Updated
Vermont · Free-college programs

802Opportunity at Community College of Vermont

CCV tuition and its administrative fee for qualifying Vermonters of any age; books, materials and other course fees remain separate.

Free if eligibleSources checked Oct 16, 2026View sources ↓Compare related routes ↓
Students & families · General optionAdult learners · Explicitly servedLow-income learners · Explicitly servedUndocumented & DACA learners · Explicitly served

At a glance

Free if eligible
What it covers
Combines with federal/state grants to cover CCV tuition and the $125 administrative fee for eligible students in fall, spring and summer. It does not cover textbooks, materials or other course fees.
Income / financial rules
Vermont residents must have student/family adjusted gross income of $100,000 or less as reported on FAFSA. FAFSA-ineligible students should have VSAC determine the alternative Pathway documentation and eligibility.
Who to check first
Be a Vermont resident pursuing a CCV associate degree or certificate, with a high-school diploma/equivalent and no prior bachelor’s degree. New and returning students can qualify.
Application timing
Use the actual CCV term’s admission/registration calendar and finish the aid applications; this page does not state one statewide year-specific final deadline.
Read official guidanceYou’ll leave FreeCheapEdu. The program makes the eligibility decision.

Check your eligibility

Some items describe alternative routes rather than requirements for everyone. Use the route that applies to you as a preparation checklist; the program makes the eligibility decision.

How to apply

  1. 1
    Complete FAFSA plus the Vermont grant application, or ask VSAC which Pathway applies if FAFSA-ineligible. There is no separate 802Opportunity application.
  2. 2
    Apply for CCV admission, select courses and register. Check CCV’s academic calendar for the actual registration/term dates; VSAC determines eligibility and works with CCV on payment.

What to watch for

Tuition-free does not mean every course expense is paid: books, materials and course fees remain your responsibility. Ask CCV how the award affects your total aid package before budgeting.

Common questions

What is the main benefit?

Combines with federal/state grants to cover CCV tuition and the $125 administrative fee for eligible students in fall, spring and summer. It does not cover textbooks, materials or other course fees.

Is there an income limit?

Vermont residents must have student/family adjusted gross income of $100,000 or less as reported on FAFSA. FAFSA-ineligible students should have VSAC determine the alternative Pathway documentation and eligibility.

When should I apply?

Use the actual CCV term’s admission/registration calendar and finish the aid applications; this page does not state one statewide year-specific final deadline.

Sources & verification

Source summaries checked by automated research on the dates below. No human professional review is claimed.

Checked Oct 16, 2026
Read official guidance