Updated
NY · STATE GUIDE

New York college funding: TAP, Excelsior and adult Reconnect

Compare TAP, Excelsior and SUNY/CUNY Reconnect as separate routes. Start with your age, prior study, intended programme and application timing, then read the conditions and remaining costs of the route that fits.

3 state or regional resources · 48 national pathwaysSwitch state →

Start with these New York options

New York Tuition Assistance Program (TAP)

Free if eligible

What it covers

Tuition assistance up to $5,665 annually; the actual award depends on income, dependency, tuition and other award factors. Part-time and approved non-degree awards are prorated, so the full-time estimate is not a promised payment.
As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗

Who to check first

Normally a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen with 12 continuous months of New York legal residence. The NYS DREAM Act provides a separate eligibility route; establish that eligibility before applying through that route.
As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗

How to start

Choose the correct academic year, complete the FAFSA and the separate TAP application, or complete the DREAM Act application if that is your eligibility path. These applications are required each year for payment.
As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗

SUNY / CUNY Reconnect

Free if eligible

What it covers

Tuition, books, supplies and eligible fees
As of Oct 15, 2026 · SUNY ↗

Who to check first

NY resident or eligible for in-state tuition; age 25–55 as of the applicable January 1
As of Oct 15, 2026 · SUNY ↗

How to start

Choose an eligible SUNY or CUNY program and apply through that college
As of Oct 15, 2026 · SUNY ↗

Where to start

STEP 1

Compare TAP with your college plan

Check TAP’s financial, residency and enrollment requirements against your intended New York institution and current application year.

STEP 2

Consider the adult-returner route separately

If you are returning to community college, read Reconnect’s age, prior-degree and programme conditions rather than assuming it is the same offer as Excelsior.

STEP 3

Check timing and future obligations

Read each programme’s actual application status and cautions. Include post-study obligations and costs outside the covered charges in your comparison.

Compare funding options in New York

51 of 51 options
Free type
AAUW International Fellowships — closed 2027–28 STEM cycle
National option · Application closed
Grants & scholarshipsFor the reviewed 2027–28 cycle, AAUW states a $20,000 master’s stipend or $25,000 doctoral stipend, paid to the fellow in two installments. This is a closed competitive award, not currently available tuition funding or an all-expenses guarantee.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
The 2027–28 cycle closed September 17, 2026 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern. AAUW states applications have closed; March-2027 notification is not a new filing deadline.Free if eligible
Berea College international student financial aid
Institution-specific
Institutional financial aidBerea states admitted international students receive aid/scholarships covering tuition, housing, food and fees. Personal expenses and the enrollment-deposit process remain separate; this is not unrestricted cash for study at another college.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
All international application components are due November 30; the page does not attach a calendar year. Confirm the intended fall cohort in the portal, with deposit timing set individually after admission.Free if eligible
BIE postsecondary scholarship resources
National option
Scholarship resource directoryScholarship and postsecondary support resources for American Indian and Alaska Native students
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
Application timing not collected for this example. Check the official program and academic year.Free if eligible
BIF/Bryant self-paced CFP education
National option
Professional credential educationThe reviewed BIF/Bryant self-paced education product displays $2,995 and includes all seven courses with 21 months of programme access. It is an education-product price, not the total cost or approval of CFP certification.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
The reviewed product gives 21 months of access, not a universal completion or examination date. Confirm purchase terms, provider course reporting and the education-verification deadline for the intended exam.Low cost
Cary Carbonaro Women & Wealth Career Changer Scholarship
National option · Application closed
Grants & scholarshipsThe scholarship can award up to $5,000 toward a certificate-level CFP Board Registered Program for eligible women career changers with financial need. The reviewed application cycle is closed.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
This application cycle is closed. The page gives December 11, 2026 for award-decision notification; no next application opening or cutoff is established.Free if eligible
CFP Board Accelerated Path
National option
Professional credential educationEligible holders of specified credentials can bypass most CFP certification coursework. They still need the Capstone or qualifying Capstone Alternative, the exam, experience and an accredited bachelor’s degree or higher. No Capstone price or exam-fee waiver was established in this review.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Credential and Capstone documentation must reach CFP Board by the education-verification deadline for the chosen exam window. No single universal application cutoff or fee was established by this review.Low cost
Curtis Institute of Music Full-Tuition Scholarship
Institution-specific
Institutional financial aidEvery admitted student receives a renewable full-tuition merit scholarship without a separate tuition-aid application. Published 2026–27 tuition values are $55,995 undergraduate/$69,527 graduate; those are scholarship values, not cash stipends or full attendance budgets.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Recurring application timetable: December 3 need-based fee-waiver request, December 10 application, later auditions and offer-response dates. This page does not attach a year to those dates; verify the intended cycle rather than manufacturing an ISO day.Free if eligible
Employer-paid nurse aide training
National option
Employer-paid trainingUnder 42 CFR 483.152(c), a nurse aide employed by, or offered employment by, a covered facility when training begins cannot be charged for any part of the nurse-aide training and competency evaluation programme, including textbooks and required course materials.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
No-charge branch depends on employment/offer at course start. The separate reimbursement branch requires qualifying employment/offer no later than 12 months after completion; confirm the state procedure and any filing requirements.Employer-paid
Excelsior Scholarship
NY · Application closed
Free-college programsRemaining eligible SUNY / CUNY tuition
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
2026–27 application is closedFree if eligible
Federal Pell Grant
National option
Grants & scholarshipsThe 2026–27 maximum scheduled Pell Grant is $7,395. Your school determines the actual award from your FAFSA information; eligible year-round enrollment may allow up to 150% of the scheduled award. This is not a guaranteed payment to every applicant.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
2026–27 FAFSA: federal receipt deadline June 30, 2027. Check earlier school/state dates and any separate verification or correction deadline. This date does not establish 2027–28 funding or a deadline for every grant.Free if eligible
Fort Lewis College Native American Tuition Waiver
National option
Tuition waiversThe Fort Lewis waiver covers tuition; fees and other education and living expenses remain.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
Coordinate waiver documentation with the FLC admission or Graduate Studies process; no single deadline is stated on this page.Free if eligible
Fulbright Foreign Student Program
National option
Grants & scholarshipsThe common Foreign Student Programme lists funding support, J-1 visa sponsorship, a health benefit plan and enrichment activities. Confirm the country/award’s actual funding package and university placement rather than assuming a universal full-tuition amount.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Check the home-country commission or U.S. embassy for its current cycle and deadline. The programme uses established country/award deadlines; no universal date or open status is established here.Free if eligible
Georgia Tech Online MS in Computer Science
National option
Reduced tuitionOMSCS requires at least 30 credit hours. The Fall-2026 bursar table lists tuition per credit at $227 in-state, $236 out-of-state or $248 out-of-country, plus online learning fees of $212 below four credits or $531 for four or more credits per semester. These are dated semester rates, not a guaranteed total degree price.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
The official page lists March 1 for Fall and August 15 for Spring, with no Summer admission. These are recurring month/day cutoffs without an explicit intake year in the reviewed text; verify the year and submit all supporting materials on time.Low cost
Google Project Management Certificate
National option
Workforce trainingGoogle lists a U.S./Canada subscription of $49 USD/month after a 7-day trial. Completion provides a Google course certificate and over 100 hours of project-management education relevant to PMI credentials; it is not CAPM certification or a free PMI exam.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Self-paced enrollment: confirm current platform access and subscription terms. No cohort-wide year-specific application closing date is established in these materials.Low cost
Haz La U college grants through HHF Youth Awards
National option
Grants & scholarshipsColgate lists regional Haz La U grants of $4,000, $3,000 or $2,000 and a $10,000 national-level grant for one regional winner. These are competitive tiers, not a promised personal payment or a full-college-cost award; confirm the actual grant terms.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
The 2026 application and all documents are due November 1, 2026 at 11:59:59 p.m. PST, as stated by the application FAQ. The cycle concerns spring-2027 graduation and 2027–28 college entry; do not reuse an older announcement’s deadline.Free if eligible
Hispanic Scholarship Fund Scholar Program
National option · Application closed
Grants & scholarshipsScholars receive career, mentoring and other support. Possible scholarships range $500–$5,000 by relative need and available funding; Scholar status does not guarantee a cash award.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
2026 application deadline: February 15, 2026, closed. Later document/award phases do not reopen entry; no next-cycle dates are inferred.Free if eligible
IBEW–NECA electrical apprenticeship network
National option
ApprenticeshipsCombines on-the-job skill development and trade-related classroom instruction through local IBEW/NECA JATC/AJATC programmes. No nationwide tuition price, wage or immediate opening is established by these network materials.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Application windows and selection depend on the local JATC/AJATC; there is no network-wide year-specific deadline in these materials.Employer-paid
Jeannette Rankin National Scholar Grant
National option
Grants & scholarshipsUp to $3,000 annually in non-tuition funding paid directly to recipients, renewable for up to five years subject to selection/conditions. It is not an automatic tuition waiver.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
The page’s named 2026–27 grant cycle opened October 5, 2026; complete application and recommendations are due February 12, 2027, 11:59pm Eastern. Preserve that official cycle label rather than inventing a different award year.Free if eligible
Job Corps
National option
Workforce trainingEligible students receive no-cost career training. Job Corps lists housing, food, health/dental care, basic training uniforms/equipment and a biweekly basic living allowance, alongside education and job-placement assistance. This is support during training, not a guaranteed job or a quoted salary.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Admissions and campus-specific timing; no universal national closing date is established. Check your MyJobCorps dashboard and representative for the actual review, waiting list and enrollment start.Free if eligible
MIT OpenCourseWare learning materials
National option
Free courses & textbooksStudy published MIT syllabi, notes and learning activities for free. Some courses include videos or open textbooks. OCW does not award a degree, academic credit or certification.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Independent, self-paced access has no enrollment window or course start/end date.Free for everyone
Modern States · Freshman Year for Free
National option
College credit for lessFree self-paced CLEP preparation, with a voucher after qualifying coursework and request approval. The voucher covers the specific earned CLEP exam and, according to the provider, remote proctoring; a test-center charge may need separate payment and reimbursement. The college decides whether any credit is awarded.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Courses are self-paced; use the expiration date in your voucher email. Submit any eligible test-center reimbursement within one year of the exam date; no universal exam date is established.Free if eligible
Montgomery GI Bill Selected Reserve (Chapter 1606)
National option
Grants & scholarshipsMGIB-SR offers up to 36 months of education and training benefits. A current payment-rate quote is not supplied by this record.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Confirm your personal eligibility period and enrollment process with VA and your unit; this is not a dated annual scholarship intake.Free if eligible
New York Tuition Assistance Program (TAP)
NY
Grants & scholarshipsTuition assistance up to $5,665 annually; the actual award depends on income, dependency, tuition and other award factors. Part-time and approved non-degree awards are prorated, so the full-time estimate is not a promised payment.

Some listed cycles have no reviewed funding or eligibility here. Check the cycle before using these programme facts.

Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
June 30, 2027 for 2026–27. HESC separately lists June 30, 2028 for 2027–28; verify the intended year and college processing requirements.Free if eligible
NPower Tech Fundamentals
National option
Workforce trainingFree virtual IT training, certification opportunities and career support; internship opportunities vary.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
Applications are considered on a rolling basis; ask the regional team about the next class.Free if eligible
OpenStax free digital textbooks
National option
Free courses & textbooksRead OpenStax textbooks online or download their PDFs for free. Print editions are sold separately; a free digital textbook does not include every paid course tool.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
The higher-education guide says the free online textbooks have no expiration date. School assignment deadlines and any purchased tool’s access terms remain separate.Free for everyone
Patsy Takemoto Mink Education Support Awards
National option
Grants & scholarships2026 Education Support Awards of up to $5,000 for selected low-income mothers
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
Application timing not collected for this example. Check the official program and academic year.Free if eligible
Per Scholas technology training
National option
Workforce trainingEligible learners receive no-cost immersive technology training and career preparation. In-person, hybrid and remote formats vary by programme; all are live and attendance-based. This is training support, not guaranteed wages or a job.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Select the actual course/campus and its current cohort dates. The general admissions page does not establish one national closing date.Free if eligible
Point Foundation Flagship Scholarship
National option
Grants & scholarshipsAwards up to $15,000, with leadership and career-development support; confirm your actual award and renewal terms.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
The published window is September 9–November 19, closing at 5 p.m. PST; verify the application year on the portal.Free if eligible
Post-9/11 GI Bill (Chapter 33)
National option
Grants & scholarshipsAt the maximum benefit level, VA covers public in-state tuition and fees. Housing, books and other approved education or training support have separate conditions; private and foreign tuition is capped.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Benefits generally expire 15 years after the last separation if service ended before January 1, 2013. For service ending on or after that date, the page says they do not expire.Free if eligible
Registered Apprenticeship
National option
ApprenticeshipsRegistered Apprenticeship combines a paid job, mentoring, related classroom instruction and progressive wages with a portable nationally recognized credential. This national route describes the model; the employer/sponsor supplies the actual opening, pay schedule and training terms.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Opening/sponsor-specific. Search current opportunities and contact the employer directly for application and start dates.Employer-paid
Roehl Get Your CDL
National option
Employer-paid trainingRoehl hires and pays trainees as employees from day one. The initial CDL phase is three weeks, followed by additional on-the-job driver training.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Training locations follow terminal/customer needs; ask recruiting about the current hiring area and next class rather than assuming a nationwide seat.Employer-paid
Ron Brown Signature Scholarship
National option
Grants & scholarships$40,000 over four years, normally $10,000 annually, at an accredited U.S. four-year college. Any academic major can qualify; selection is competitive.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
The open 2027 competition lists December 1 applications and December 15 supporting documents; these month/day statements have no explicit calendar year, so confirm portal timing.Free if eligible
Saylor ACE-recommended credit exams
National option
College credit for lessSaylor charges no tuition or transcript fee for this route. The required proctoring service costs $5 per exam session. A passing credit exam earns an ACE recommendation for possible transfer, not automatic college credit.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Exams are self-scheduled rather than tied to one application deadline. Check the selected course’s ACE recommendation expiration and credit-exam availability before booking.Low cost
Schneider CDL Apprenticeship Training
National option
Employer-paid trainingPaid CDL training lasting five to seven-and-a-half weeks. Schneider lists compensation during training, meals, and lodging or transportation where applicable.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Use the current paid-training job listings or recruiting team to confirm an available start; no single deadline is published on this page.Employer-paid
Soroptimist Live Your Dream Awards for Women
National option
Grants & scholarshipsApplicants can potentially receive combined award levels up to $16,000 for education and related expenses.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
The published annual application period is August 1–November 15; confirm the current cycle and local-club timeline.Free if eligible
SpouseWorks Scholarship (formerly MyCAA)
National option
Workforce trainingUp to $4,000 for eligible licenses, certifications, associate degrees or required credential-maintenance courses; not an automatic personal award.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Confirm individual approval/application timing through the account or coach; no year-specific closing day is stated here.Free if eligible
SUNY / CUNY Reconnect
NY
Free-college programsTuition, books, supplies and eligible fees
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
College-specific · check the college calendarFree if eligible
TESU undergraduate degree completion
National option
Reduced tuitionEffective August 2026, TESU lists full-time flat tuition for 9–18 credits per term at $3,595 for New Jersey residents or $4,652 for out-of-state students. Fewer than nine credits use per-credit tuition; credits above 18 add an overload charge. Other fees and remaining degree requirements still apply.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Confirm the intended term and current registration/refund calendar with TESU. Admission and an academic evaluation come before a reliable remaining-course plan; no single degree-completion application deadline is established here.Low cost
TheDream.US National Scholarship
National option
Grants & scholarshipsAt eligible partner colleges: up to $18,000 for an associate or $36,000 for a bachelor’s tuition/mandatory fees, plus up to $6,000 book/supply stipends. Renewable subject to continuing criteria and June renewal; not an unrestricted award at any college.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Future 2027–28 round: opens November 1, 2026, closes February 28, 2027; notifications late April 2027. The round has not opened as of the October 16 review.Free if eligible
TRIO Student Support Services
National option
Student support servicesParticipating college projects provide tutoring, course-selection advice, financial-aid/scholarship information, FAFSA help and financial-literacy support, with transfer or graduate-application assistance where applicable. Federal project grants go to institutions; being first-generation does not itself create an individual tuition award.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Campus-specific participant intake. Ask the college project about current availability and its student deadlines; no universal national student closing date is established by the cited regulations.Free if eligible
UMPI YourPace undergraduate degrees
National option
Reduced tuitionFor academic year 2026–27, UMPI lists YourPace undergraduate tuition at $1,800 per eight-week session, with flat tuition regardless of the number of courses completed in that session. Your total depends on the sessions you actually need; this is tuition, not a guaranteed all-in degree price.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Confirm the intended session and all admissions/transcript steps with YourPace before registering. No session-specific application cutoff is established by this record.Low cost
UNA Accounting Career Completion courses
National option
Professional credential educationThe reviewed Fall-2026 programme offers online accounting courses at $550 per three-credit course: $525 tuition plus a $25 nonrefundable processing fee, including electronic study texts. This is a course price, not the total cost of a CPA licence.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Fall-2026 completed applications and payment are accepted through October 31, 2026. This is the course intake cutoff; the December coursework and later grade-release dates are separate.Low cost
UNCF Scholarship Resources
National option
Scholarship resource directoryUNCF lists scholarships, internships, fellowships and other opportunities, each with its own eligibility, application requirements and deadline. A directory listing is not an individual award or a promise to cover tuition.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Opportunity-specific. Check the chosen scholarship, internship or fellowship for its year, full deadline and submission requirements; there is no single directory deadline.Free if eligible
Union Plus Scholarship — 2027 application
National option
Grants & scholarshipsCompetitive one-time awards range from $1,000 to $4,000. The current application awards in June 2027 for the 2027–28 school year; a later award is not automatic renewal.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Complete application due January 31, 2027, at 11:59 p.m. EST. The membership minimum is evaluated by May 31, 2027.Free if eligible
United Association HVACR and pipe-trades apprenticeships
National option
ApprenticeshipsUA programmes combine paid contractor work, classroom instruction, progressive wages and benefits. HVACR is among the covered trades; the national page lists 2,000 on-the-job hours per year and 216 classroom hours. Actual local length, fees and wage package need confirmation.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Contact the actual local sponsor about its application window; no single national deadline is established here.Employer-paid
Upwardly Global Career Coaching
National option
Student support servicesFree one-to-one career coaching, job-readiness learning and access to selected training and networking resources.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
Use the official sign-up and onboarding process; the reviewed page does not state a single application deadline.Free if eligible
VA Survivors’ and Dependents’ Educational Assistance (Chapter 35)
National option
Grants & scholarshipsPaid directly to the eligible student. For October 1, 2026–September 30, 2027, full-time college/noncollege study is up to $1,621 per full month; lower loads, partial months and training categories differ. Entitlement is generally up to 36 months for training starting August 1, 2018 onward, versus up to 45 for earlier starts.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Apply through VA and meet the approved school/training timetable. Personal use periods depend on qualifying events and relationship rules; no universal year-specific application closing date is published here.Free if eligible
Veteran Readiness and Employment (VR&E)
National option
Workforce trainingDepending on your needs and goals, VR&E may provide employment counseling, job training, apprenticeships and postsecondary education or training.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
For discharge before January 1, 2013, a basic 12-year period and possible extensions apply. The page says there is no eligibility time limit for discharge on or after January 1, 2013.Free if eligible
WGU BS Business Management
National option
Reduced tuitionWGU’s table for six-month terms starting October 1, 2026 lists BS Business Management tuition at $3,850 per term. Tuition is term-based rather than per-credit; this is not the complete degree bill or a promise of how many terms you will need.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Most WGU programmes start around the first day of a month, with exceptions. Confirm the intended Business Management start, transcript cutoff, intake interview and payment/aid arrangements with an Enrollment Counselor.Low cost
WIOA training and career services
National option
Workforce trainingAmerican Job Centers offer free employment help, career counseling and access to training services. Services vary by location; this is a starting point for an individual training assessment, not a national fixed-dollar voucher.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-16
Local intake, training start dates and available funding determine timing. Contact your American Job Center; no single national year-specific application deadline is established here.Free if eligible
Year Up United Career Pathways
National option
Workforce trainingTraining is tuition-free; participants can earn an educational stipend to help with expenses.
Source ↗ · 2026-10-15
Application steps and training offerings vary by area; confirm the next cohort through the official local path.Free if eligible

Amounts are conditional. National options are pathways to investigate, not confirmation that a local provider has an opening.

Questions before you apply

What if the Excelsior application window is closed?

Check the official page for the next window while comparing TAP and Reconnect independently. A closed window for one award does not determine every other route.

Can I add the published maximums of all three programmes?

Use the actual college award and each programme’s interaction rules. Enter confirmed aid into your cost plan instead of adding advertised ceilings.

Questions about funding in New York

What should I check before applying for New York Tuition Assistance Program (TAP)?
NYS net taxable income, not a general household-income estimate: up to $125,000 for dependent undergraduates, independent students with tax dependents, and qualifying orphan/foster/ward-of-court students since age 13; up to $60,000 for independent married students without tax dependents; up to $30,000 for independent single students without tax dependents.
As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗
June 30, 2027 for 2026–27. HESC separately lists June 30, 2028 for 2027–28; verify the intended year and college processing requirements.
As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗
Tuition aid does not establish that housing, food, books or every fee is covered. Awards and part-time proration depend on the actual tuition and credits, and the income measure changes by dependency category.
As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗As of Oct 16, 2026 · New York HESC ↗
What should I check before applying for SUNY / CUNY Reconnect?
Income ceiling not stated on the reviewed overview
As of Oct 15, 2026 · SUNY ↗
College-specific · check the college calendar
As of Oct 15, 2026 · SUNY ↗
Only designated programs qualify; confirm your specific course of study
As of Oct 15, 2026 · SUNY ↗
What should I check before applying for Excelsior Scholarship?
Federal household AGI of $125,000 or less
As of Oct 15, 2026 · New York HESC ↗
2026–27 application is closed
As of Oct 15, 2026 · New York HESC ↗
Last-dollar aid: other applicable grants are applied to tuition first
As of Oct 15, 2026 · New York HESC ↗

Local Promise & provider coverage

The records above distinguish New York resources from national starting points. College-level Promise programs and individual provider openings still need further collection; a national listing does not establish that a local provider is eligible or enrolling.